Requiem Without Words: In Memories of Vanished Souls


In memory of vanished souls
Arrangement for string quartet by Peter Lichtenthal (1780-1853)
Pro Musica Quartet:
Tasana Nagavajara, Ruaychai Saengow Violins  
Omporn Kowintha Viola
Panyaphat Wongwechwiwat Violoncello
Visual design by Jirawut Ueasungkomsate 
from the exhibition ‘This is Not A Political Act’, 2016
Thursday June 25th at WTF Gallery, Bangkok
T: 02 662 6246
Tickets 250 Baht with one drink
Limited & distance seats available by email reservation only
Requiem in D Minor, K 626 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, left incomplete at his death on December 5, 1791. Until the late 20th century the work was most often heard as it had been completed by Mozart’s student Franz Xaver Süssmayr.
Since Mozart’s Requiem was unfinished at the time of his death, it went down in history surrounded by an aura of legends. But aside from all the myths, its beauty remains. A gravely solemn and transcendent piece.
This fascinating arrangement for string quartet, one of many of its kind made in the early 19th century so that amateurs could re-create at home works they admired, is by Peter Lichtenthal, a doctor and writer on music who worked in Milan, where he knew one of Mozart’s sons. 
About Forced Disappearance in Thailand:
In Thailand, the truth could cost you everything. Freedom of expression is curtailed and those who were brave enough to speak out are silenced with violence. There are at least 86 confirmed cases of forced disappearances.
‘If our own freedom was taken away, what would be the righteous jurisdiction that can arbitrate “the absolute truth” when I see THIS but you see THAT?’ – Jirawut Ueasungkomsate 
Supported by 
SCG Foundation
Boon Rawd Brewery Co., Ltd
WTF Cafe & Gallery
Faculty of Music Silpakorn University 

Comments are closed.